Scrap Metal Laws In Mississippi
When bringing your scrap metal to your local Mississippi scrap yard, be sure to be informed on the local laws for the state. It’s important to know what to expect when going to your scrap yard in Mississippi. With some of the basic laws and regulations below it’s easy to know what to expect when recycling your metals in the area. The iScrap App Team has also provide some further details on laws and regulations in Mississippi below.
Summary of Mississippi Scrap Laws:
- Records: Scrap yards in Mississippi must keep records for all purchases for 2 years.
- Payment Restrictions: No cash payments allowed from scrap yards in Mississippi. Only checks and electronic transfers are allowed. Also the name and address must be made out to the person that sold the material. Also the check cannot be mailed out before 3 days after the scrap was bought.
- ID Records: Scrap yards must take a copy of the driver’s license or state issued ID of the seller of the scrap metal.
- Photos & Video: There must be a photo or video taken at the time of the sale of metal to the scrap yard. This includes a photo of the scrapper.
- License Plate: The license plate number of the scrapper will be kept on record as well.
- Get Further Details From Mississippi Organizations on Scrap Laws
Find Scrap Yards & Scrap Prices in Mississippi
Information Current as of June 2016.
Disclaimer: The iScrap App Inc. does not take responsibility for any misinterpreted or mistaken legal information provided on this webpage or in the document. We cannot offer legal advice of the information provided. This information was taken from public websites (credentials attached) with official resources.